Culture Night Belfast

Message to me from Babs:

On 20th September Belfast Culture night takes place. Colette from BDA, Paula and others are preparing for another Deaf World day celebration on same night. They have booked the Cafe beside ADF Head Quarters. Tears filled my eyes as I remember the first Deaf Wold Days in Belfast. The second taking place on culture night. This is now a yearly celebration something that you and Vitalis brought to the Deaf community of N Ireland. Deaf World Day was unheard of until then.

I’m hoping someone videoed the beautiful dedication of Caroline Parker performance in memory of Vitalis. A friend of yours from Graeae (whose name I forget) announced the performance dedicated to Vitalis in your and his son’s honour. The first song was one that causes me to think of you both each time I hear it. “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face”. Caroline performed it so beautifully. It was very very moving.

Folk here, including me, still find it hard to take in what happened to Vitalis. You and your families are never out of our thoughts.

Sending you a big hug.

Babs

20130914-133722.jpg

Caroline Parker (Signs of a Diva)

Leave a comment